First Attempt

The sweet and dazzling summer is creeping up around my shoulders (or ears), and I have finally handed in my 2nd-year projects for my Fine Arts degree. Tough but done! And you might be sitting there wondering who this Danish/Icelandic/Greenlandic girl is and why she is writing a blog. No? Well, I am not going to tell you then… What I will do is to write a few reflective thoughts I had today.

For some reason, I remembered an exhibition I went to in Listasafn in Reykjavik, Iceland. The exhibition I am referring to is “Intimacy” by Ragnar Kjartansson. It comes up in my mind every once in a while and probably because I found it so powerful, powerful in the sense of courage but also how it was displayed and what it entailed. It was an exhibition that confronted intimacy (which I bet you gathered when reading its title) of how we embrace each other. For me, I experienced this exhibition to bring awareness to sexual acceptance but also to be comfortable in others embracement.
There was another reason for why I have been thinking about this today, and that is because I would really enjoy being inspired by the subject in my own work. For my hand in I created this performance video installation, “The Interviews” which is a conceptual piece of artwork looking at the question of gender (in)equality through the voices of different people. Yet, this is only performed by me. I am the interviewer and interviewee. I am synchronising and imitating the persons speaking. This could communicate so many aspects, one being that others opinion is reflected in our own. Another being the humoristic way of easing a serious conversation or perhaps something completely different.

If I could move on from my latest project with momentum and a substantial subject, then my last year of degree will be a lot easier to approach. I have so many things I would like to focus in on. Hopefully, I will be starting Colchester School of Art’s first Podcast, which will begin by being a monthly occurrence and then weekly, when it has been set up with a proper studio and equipment. This will be a Podcast that will mainly be about the art school, but it will also be exploring and informing the outside creative world and opportunities that are worth pursuing.

 

Leave a comment